Artist and Music News

Peter White Album Groovin

 September 30, 2016

By  Exotic DJ

Peter White Album Groovin

Peter White has released two albums featuring his interpretations of some of his favorite songs.  They were, Reflections from 1994, and Playin’ Favorites from 2006.  I especially like the Playin’ Favorites album because I love what he did with some of the songs.  You Are Everything has a great arrangement, and the Jeffrey Osborne vocals are just icing on the cake.  Lovely Day has another one of my favorite vocalists, Jonathan Butler, performing some ad libs at the end.  Deja Vu just sounds incredible as an instrumental track – Don’t worry Dionne, we still love your version!

Now, Peter will release a new album of favorites – This time featuring songs from the 1950’s and 1960’s.  The album is called Groovin’ and it will release on October 28th.

Groovin’ takes its title from the Rascals’ tropical-hued ballad hit of 1967, and also includes, from that heady decade, the Beatles’ “Here, There and Everywhere.” From the same era, the R&B classic “I Heard It Through the Grapevine,” a hit for both Marvin Gaye and Gladys Knight, gets a distinctive new reading here by White, as does Otis Redding’s timeless “(Sittin’ On) The Dock of the Bay.” The oldest tune, “Sleep Walk,” was a number one instrumental hit in 1959 by Santo and Johnny in the United States, but White actually heard it first by the Shadows, a British guitar combo massively popular in the U.K. that never really caught on in the States. For White, the challenge in interpreting such familiar music is in putting his own stamp on a number while retaining the characteristics that make it instantly recognizable.


  1. Groovin’ (4:30)
  2. Do I Do (4:55)
  3. (Sittin’ On) The Dock of the Bay (4:38)
  4. How Long (5:42)
  5. I Can See Clearly Now (4:39)
  6. I Heard It Through the Grapevine (5:04)
  7. Never Knew Love Like This Before (6:31)
  8. Sleepwalk (4:18)
  9. When Will I See You Again (4:44)
  10. Here, There and Everywhere (2:47)

Preorder Peter White Album Groovin’ here:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}