Artist and Music News

Marco Tranchina – Smät Five Album ‘More Than Ever’ Out Now

 February 24, 2022

By  ExoticDJ

Marco Tranchina has a new album release, More Than Ever, which is out now. Widely recognized as a sought-after pianist and composer and best known for his diverse approach to harmony and compositions, Marco Tranchina formed his quintet the Smät Five, with the aim to present his original compositions that blend a unique melange of his eclectic approach to the modern jazz idiom, combined with the warm sounds and sensibilities stemming from his Mediterranean musical upbringing.

The Smät Five are an all Italian line up consisting of longstanding collaborators Mikele Montolli on bass (known for his work with the Sun Ra Arkestra, Nigel Price, Heidi Vogel and Judi Jackson), Alan Short on alto sax (Donna Summer, Natalie Cole, Sam Moore) and newer members of the ensemble Andrea Solarino on guitar (Manzi, Bosso, Burk) and Filippo Galli on drums (Tony Kofi, Jure Pukl, Gina Schwarz). The musical connection and strong partnership between this group of quality players hasgiven birth to a rhythmically solid album, anchored in bebop and infused with lyricism.

The band have performed at all major jazz clubs in the UK and throughout Italy and have also lent their expertise to a wide range of projects beyond the jazz world, covering a broad spectrum of rock and pop, though to classical (please see biographies below). Marco himself has also achieved much success with compositions for TV and film, though jazz is very much his fist love, which very much shines though on More Than Ever.

Tranchina’s vision for this album was triggered by the urge to harness his burning passion forcomposition and performance, despite the current pandemic. More Than Ever is a statement that reiterates his commitment to creating challenging, yet engaging music at the highest level.

Track Listing:


  1. More Than Ever
  2. Push & Pull
  3. Nitro
  4. Axioma
  5. Lost & Found
  6. Holger’s Dream 
  7. Irish Eyes
  8. 4.3 Cycle Song

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}